On April 3, 1811, King George III of England issued land grants to six founding families
who settled in the area known today as Peggy’s Cove. A copy of the document is in the
provincial archives, and is replicated on one of the interpretive panels in the village.
Two hundred years later, as her bicentennial is celebrated through a series of special
events and activities, Peggy’s Cove is recognized as one of the outstanding tourism
highlights of Nova Scotia; and the iconic Peggy’s Point Lighthouse enjoys national and
international recognition, a stalwart symbol of our marine heritage and culture.